Searching for Cilantro…

People that have ever studied abroad or lived abroad in general will enjoy this story.  Or if you travel extensively. I haven’t met a person that cannot relate on some level or remember some instance as to when something like this happened to them.

There’s a common misconception when you move somewhere new.  That things will be the same as at home.  Even when you know things will be different, there’s still this part of you that knows there will be some of the same things.  However, then comes the day when you feel like a right idiot full of assumption only to look like an ass.  This commences my search for cilantro.

I love tacos! I mean, I really love tacos and Mexican food.  It reminds me of home.  While living in England I had a craving for tacos.  It was obscene.  You can only eat so many fish and chips or bangers and mash or look at the weird consistency of mushy peas until you need something else to fill you.  Sorry England, but sometimes you just want the food you grew up with.  I’m sure you’d feel the same in the US.  Hence, came the search for the glories that are beef, cabbage, salsa, jalapenos, tomatoes, onions, and cilantro.  I was a woman on a mission after lectures for the day were finished.  I already knew the Sainsbury’s I would hit up along the walk to my place.  Calculating every aisle I needed to go through to get everything.  I set out on my mission full of hope and promise.  I went to the grocery store and started gathering up my items.  One by one of the list I had put together on my phone.  Having to back track at least once when I forgot to pick up a tomato in the fresh veg and fruit section.  Then I came across cilantro.  That magical herb, yes it might be with an “h” but ask us and it’s pronounced proudly “erb.” This erb, ahem, **herb that takes a taco to the next level.  I couldn’t find it.  Parsley, basil, chives, thyme, but no cilantro.  I thought how odd that they would’ve ran out.  Luckily, there was another Sainsbury’s on my walk and a Waitrose.  I nipped into Waitrose and nothing.  Then I went to the larger Sainsbury’s in the city (the last stop before heading to my house) and searched.  I even went to the spice rack to see if they even had a dried version, knowing that I wouldn’t buy it.  I looked baffled that it wasn’t even there.  I was quite upset that I couldn’t find this but I got to thinking that maybe they just don’t have it in England.  Which is a crazy idea how many staples it is in for so many diets, especially the Asian community.  I decided to google for it as opposed to asking an attendant for fear that they would laugh at my Americaness.  Then I saw it.  Cilantro is coriander.  CORIANDER.  I had seen it every single shop and didn’t even question it.  GAH, I felt like a massive idiot.  But that’s what we call that herb in North America. Cilantro.  Needless to say, it was an encounter I wasn’t expecting from living abroad.  I should have known something like this would happen.  However, in my head I thought it’s the UK, not a third world country.  I got this!  I certainly overestimated myself numerous time but this felt like one of the “d’oh!” kind of moments.  So if you’re ever finding yourself in need of delicious tacos look for coriander my friends.  I am sure the UK will thank you. Also, if you find yourself across the pond, dear lord say CILANTRO.  It might hurt a bit but you’ll find what you need.  Lesson learned.

arcelia

http://blogs.houstonpress.com/eating/2009/11/arcelia_taco_bus.php

Leave a comment